4th SIEL Conversation

The aim of SIEL Conversations is to bring together authors and commentators to give talks that are idea-focused so as to foster learning and inspiration, and provoke conversations that matter. Each SIEL Conversation will last approximately one hour and will include commentary from the speakers, with questions from the public.

 

Title:

International Dispute Settlement in the Pandemic

In 2020, international dispute settlement has adapted to travel restrictions, lockdowns and remote work – conditions which may last through 2021 or longer. ICSID, the Permanent Court of Arbitration, the WTO and other arbitral institutions have responded to the challenge through virtual or online methods of operation, to continue to deliver services and settle disputes.
In this fourth in the series of SIEL Conversations, a roundtable of experienced tribunal and WTO officers and advocates will discuss how ICSID, the PCA and the WTO are dealing with pandemic restrictions on dispute settlement and operations.

 

Moderator:

Hugo Perezcano-Díaz, Arbitrator and Trade and Investment Consultant, formerly with the Mexican Ministry of Economy

 

Speakers: 

John Adank,  Director, WTO Legal Affairs Division, Geneva

Philippe Cellard, Senior Legal Advisor, Permanent Mission of Canada to the WTO, Geneva

Martin Doe-Rodriguez, Senior Legal Counsel, Permanent Court of Arbitration, The Hague

Jara Mínguez-Almeida, Team Leader/Legal Counsel, ICSID Secretariat, Washington

Cherise Valles, Deputy Director, Advisory Centre on WTO Law (ACWL), Geneva

 

Date:

The event is scheduled for Thursday, 29 October 2020 at the following times, and more information can be found here:

  • 7 am Mexico City
  • 8 am Bogota, Lima
  • 9 am New York, Toronto
  • 2 pm Lagos
  • 1 pm London
  • 6:30 pm New Delhi
  • 9 pm Singapore
  • 10 pm Tokyo
  • 12 am, 30 October, Sydney

 

Registration form:

https://forms.gle/gxHzTnDobZjVjzYJ6

The webinar will be recorded and available after the event.