SIEL's history

The initial idea of a global organization for the field was first discussed at the ASIL-IELG's November 2006 conference, aptly held at the historic Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire.  Shortly thereafter, some of the participants at that conference put together the Founding Committee, and then the Founding Executive Council.  Subsequently, on May 24-25 2007, there was a planning meeting at the LSE to allow the Founding Committee, Executive Council and others to discuss our shared vision for SIEL. The input we received from the participants at that meeting has helped us to clarify and advance our vision of what the SIEL will do and be, and how it ought to be structured and governed going forward.

Our inaugural conference, along with the formal launch of SIEL, was  held in July 2008, at the Centre on Trade and Economic Integration, at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva.
  Professor Don McRae of the University of Ottowa served as the Interim President of SIEL.  The Co-Chairs of the Founding Committee, Andrew Lang and Colin Picker,  led  a fifteen-member Founding Committee comprising Lorand Bartels, Tomer Broude, Isabelle Bunn, Melaku Desta, Devashish Krishnan, Simon Lester, Meredith Kolsky Lewis, Bryan Mercurio, Junji Nakagawa, Federico Ortino, Amy Porges, Michelle Ratton Sanchez, Chantal Thomas, Todd  Weiler, and Galina Zukova.

The Founding Executive Council comprised (in alphabetical order, with their affiliations at the time of foundation):

  • Bhupinder Chimni, Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • Thomas Cottier, University of Berne
  • James R. Crawford, University of Cambridge
  • Piet Eeckhout, Kings College London
  • Claus-Dieter Ehlermann, WilmerHale
  • Florentino Feliciano, SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan
  • Wang Guiguo, City University of Hong Kong
  • Robert Howse, University of Michigan Law School
  • Valerie Hughes, Department of Finance, Canadian Government
  • John H. Jackson, Georgetown University Law Center
  • Julio Lacarte, Former Member and Chairman, WTO Appellate Body
  • Rosa Maria Lastra, Queen Mary, University of London
  • Yong-Shik Lee, St. John's University School of Law
  • Andreas Lowenfeld, New York University
  • Gabrielle Marceau, Cabinet of the Director-General, World Trade Organisation
  • Mitsuo Matsushita, University of Tokyo
  • Petros Mavroidis, Columbia Law School; University de Neuchatel
  • Donald M. McRae, University of Ottawa
  • Joost Pauwelyn, HEI
  • Ernst-Ulrich Petersmann, European University Institute
  • Don H. Regan, University of Michigan Law School
  • Helene Ruiz Fabri, Universite Paris I - Pantheon Sorbonne
  • Dan Sarooshi, University of Oxford
  • Christoph H. Schreuer, University of Vienna
  • Joanne Scott, University College London
  • Gregory C. Shaffer, Loyola University, Chicago
  • Francis Snyder, Universite d'Aix-Marseille III; LSE
  • M. Sornarajah, National University of Singapore
  • Debra P. Steger, University of Ottawa
  • Joel P. Trachtman, Fletcher School, Tufts University
  • Michael Trebilcock, University of Toronto
  • Ko-Yung Tung, Morrison & Foerster LLP; Visitor, Yale Law School
  • Peter Van den Bossche, University of Maastricht
  • Thomas Walde, University of Dundee
  • Joseph H.H.Weiler, New York University
  • Edith Brown Weiss, Georgetown University
  • James Whitelaw, Secretary General of the MERCOSUR Dispute Section.