07/2022 SIEL Conversation

 

The aim of SIEL Conversations is to bring together authors and commentators to give talks that are idea-focused so as to foster learning and inspiration, and provoke conversations that matter. Each SIEL Conversation will last approximately one hour and will include commentary from the speakers, with questions from the public.

 

Title: Sanctions and the Rules-Based International Economic Order

 

The past months have seen a significant expansion and intensification of the phenomenon of “international sanctions”, unilateral economic measures adopted by individual states and the European Union to respond to what they perceive as unlawful or undesirable behavior performed or tolerated by other states.

The recent wave of economic sanctions, imposed on Russia following the invasion of Ukraine, is unprecedented in many ways. At the same time, it follows a trend of unilateral behavior replacing action within global fora such as the World Trade Organization as a means of addressing economic and political disputes at the international level.

As a matter of their consequences for the global economic order, this multiplication of unilateral measures, compounded with the demise of the WTO Appellate Body, may signal the breakdown of a rules-based multilateral order. Some of the actors adopting these measures, however, claim that they are in fact the instruments required to preserve rules-based interaction in the absence of authoritative compulsory adjudication.

In this SIEL Conversation, participants examine this wave of unilateral economic measures, discuss their implications for the global political and economic order, and consider the role of law and the prospects for legal regulation in this so-called “geoconomic” world order.

 

Discussants:

Chad P. Bown, Reginald Jones Senior Fellow, Peterson Institute for International Economics, Washington, DC.

Ingrid Wuerth, Helen Strong Curry Chair in International Law Vanderbilt Law School

Samantha Atayde, Partner, RRH Consultores S.C., Mexico City

Michael Ewing-Chow, Associate Professor and WTO Chair, National University of Singapore (NUS)

Moderator:

Vitaliy Pogoretskyy, Counsel, Advisory Centre for WTO law

 

Date: The event is scheduled for Monday 25 July 2022 at the following times and more information can be found below:

8 am Mexico City time
9 am Washington D.C. time
2 pm London time.
3 pm Geneva time.

Registration form: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_koqirsU_Qliph8LRKAdCmA

 

The event recording will be available shortly after the event.

Information about the participants as well as a description of the event can be found below and here

SIEL Conversation (July 2022)